A Mask a Day

I thought it sounded crazy, too, when I first read it.  In fact,  I had almost forgotten about it when I looked at the pile of masks still waiting to be reviewed.  And then I thought, maybe that’s not such a crazy idea.  I’ve tried all of the masks at least twice.

IMG_0452_1

This one has been weird since the day I got it.  It arrived in the December Vegan Cuts Beauty Box with the directions “apply evenly over the face until you look like a green sea monster”.  There wasn’t a lot of extra information about it, and the insert from Acure was an “about us” card.  According the Acure site, this was designed to purge and moisturize simultaneously.  I thought it would be a neat trick to see, but this is not the miracle mask.  The moisturizing isn’t bad, although there was no change in my pores.

IMG_0451_1 - Copy

Now this is a mask that will do a nice job of moisturizing.  I was skeptical that a dry mask could do the job, being, well, dry.  I struggled to get the water to mask ratio right at first, but once I got it, I thought this mask was genius.  I don’t normally enjoy fragrance in a mask, but the natural pumpkin smell comes out and it’s actually kind of nice.

IMG_0450_1 - Copy

This is basically brown sugar and a mixture of oils.  I’m not saying this is a bad thing, but it does kind of make you feel like baking a cake.  The idea is that you gently scrub and then leave the whole thing on for about 15 minutes.  By the way, I kept all of these masks on for way longer than 15 minutes.  I think these scrub/masks are interesting and this felt much nicer on my skin than some of the others I’ve tried.

IMG_0449_1 - Copy

Sagga was even more interesting.  A mask that could also be a facial cleanser.  I’ve been doing these masks as a start to my morning beauty routine, but still felt the need to wash my face after the masks.  It was a bit too fine for me to like it as a scrub.  In a way, that made me like it more.  This did great at making my skin feel clean once I had washed it off and is a great mask to kick-start the day.

IMG_0448_1_1 - Copy

Although my acne and my skin are currently observing a cease-fire, I’m always excited about reinforcements.  I’m not excited about alcohol being the third ingredient on the list.  The actual useful stuff, like willow bark, witch hazel, calendula and tea tree oil are further down the list; tea tree oil ranking only shortly above fragrance, also not exciting in a skin care product.  I did like that this dried clear.

I know that’s not 7 masks, but I tested a few of them twice during this week.  Overall, the Pumpkin + Marshmallow Root and the Wabi-Sabi Sagga masks were my favorites.  And although it seemed daunting, a mask a day turned out to be really nice for my skin.  It’s been soft and acne activity is at its lowest in months.  I enjoyed this experiment so much, I’m redoing my morning to make this a permanent part of it.  I’ll let you know if a mask a day ever turns out to be too much!

Notes about the brands:

  • SoapGirl is cruelty free.  This mask was given to me by SoapGirl, who I know in real life.
  • Kani Botanical Beauty is vegan and cruelty free.  From the December Petit Vour box.
  • Wabi-Sabi is vegan and cruelty free.  From the January Vegan Cuts Beauty Box.
  • Suki Skin Care is cruelty free.  From the March Petit Vour box.
4 thoughts on “A Mask a Day

Leave a Reply

