Captain Blankenship Mermaid Sea Salt Hair Spray

IMG_0389_1_1 - Copy

From the April Vegan Cuts Beauty Box

I am blessed with an incredibly thick head of hair.  To keep the volume from reaching Cousin Itt levels, I can’t wash it often, which means my curl starts to fall out after a few days.  Sea salt sprays help me keep the curl without adding volume.  Captain Blankenship hypes this is “a texturizing and moisturizing hair spray that helps add waves and life to your hair”.

It’s definitely added life to my hair, unfortunately, that life is in the form of frizz.  I’m not sure if it’s making my hair frizzy or adding to the natural frizz which I so desperately try to control, but nevertheless, I’ve noticed a distinct frizz halo when using this.  It isn’t drying, so I don’t think they’re using too much salt in the spray (or whatever it is that causes frizz in hair products).  The frizz has made it difficult to tell if the spray has a moisturizing effect, since that usually makes my hair feel like a steel wool pad.  I think this is probably best for people who don’t have frizz issues.

A note about the brand:  Captain Blankenship is cruelty free.

Leave a Reply

