e.l.f. Studio Translucent Mattifying Powder

elf powder

I know what you’re thinking…this doesn’t look translucent.  Are you sure you didn’t get the tinted one by mistake?  This is definitely the one marked translucent, although it looks a little darker than the one on the e.l.f. website.  e.l.f. hypes this “works on a wide variety of skin tones” and “miraculously mattes skin to diminish oil and shine”.

First, some disclaimers.  I’ve been using loose powder for the last couple of years, so I may have just forgotten how pressed powder looks.  Also, my skin tone is best described as “vampire”, which I’m not sure is actually a skin tone.  Which may be why it gave my skin a little bit of a tan? brown? human? look instead of letting my bright whiteness shine through like the loose powder.

Does it miraculously matte skin?  Again, it’s been a couple of years since I’ve used pressed powder, so I may have been overdoing it, but the only miracle that came to mind while testing this was the Hanukkah miracle of the oil lasting for eight days when it was only meant to last for one.  On the bright side, I did get to test a lot of the e.lf. oil blotting sheets, so look for that review soon.

Overall, I did enjoy having the ability to take a compact with me.  It’s been a long time since I had “portable powder”.  If your skin tone is less creature of the night than mine, this might be a good powder for you.

Leave a Reply

