e.l.f. Studio Eye Primer and Liner Sealer

elf sealer

I’ll be doing an upcoming post on eye primer as I seek out alternatives for the unfortunately non-vegan Urban Decay Primer Potion, and I’ll cover this primer then. For now, let’s talk liner sealer. Despite my subscription to a professional makeup artist magazine and the insane number of hours I rack up watching makeup videos on Youtube, I had never heard of liner sealer before picking up this product. Apparently it’s meant to keep non-liquid liner from smudging. This isn’t a problem I experience, but I do enjoy a good makeup experiment.

The sealer is meant to be applied directly onto the eyeliner “[transforming] your favorite eye shadow into a waterproof, smudge-proof liquid liner”. I’ll be honest; I didn’t try this method first. I was following a makeup tutorial that called for a gel liner in a color I only had in powder, so I figured I’d try to get the look using the sealer. I dabbed some onto my hand and mixed it with the eye shadow, then applied it with an angled eyeliner brush (the one with a bend in it). It took a lot more sealer than if used as directed, but the results were better than I expected.

I tried to reproduce the results using less sealer, but I ended up with a kind of watercolor effect to my liner, which was actually kind of cool in its own way. Kind of cool, because brown isn’t the color I would have chosen to do a watercolor effect. It does live up to the hype of being smudge-proof.

When tried as directed, it wasn’t really impressive.  I applied it over a brown shadow used as eyeliner.  It’s a lot wetter than liquid liner, and actually kind of creeped me out and made me afraid to open my eyes until it dried.  The sealer took a tad longer to dry than liquid liner and my eyeliner didn’t look at all different.  Still, when not used as directed, you do get some cool liner effects, so I recommend it for those purposes.

PS If anyone has a good vegan dupe for Primer Potion, please let me know.

2 thoughts on “e.l.f. Studio Eye Primer and Liner Sealer

Leave a Reply

