Dr. Bronner’s Fair Trade & Organic Unscented Shaving Gel

Dr Bronner's shave gel

I’ve never tried any of Dr. Bronner’s products before, but the grocery store only had three vegan-friendly brands. Since half of my bathroom is now stocked with Avalon Organics and I may never buy a Kiss My Face product again, I decided it was time Dr. Bronner and I became acquainted. The shave gel comes in both scented and unscented formulas. I tried the unscented because scent in shave gel is a tricky thing and sometimes you can end up smelling like a beach vacation.

I was more than a little surprised when the shave gel came out brown, like henna brown. I pretty much thought shave gel came in white and pink, maybe green. Anyway, so here I am with this brown stuff that looks like something from a first-aid kit and wondering if I’ve made yet another serious error in vegan product research. It actually lathers up quite nicely, although I wouldn’t necessarily call it foaming. The hype promises “a soothing and moisturizing glide along with superior hair lift and wetting”. Okay, that last part about hair lift and wetting sounds a little weird, but I have to say, it’s one of my smoothest shaves ever. If you can get past the surprising look of the shave gel, and the hype that includes some of the strangest phrases ever, I recommend giving this a shot.

A note about the brand: Dr. Bronner’s is cruelty free. With the exception of their lip and body balms, their products are vegan.

Leave a Reply

