Cruelty-free: I do not think that word means what I think it means

I’m not always the brightest crayon in the box.  I was in my early thirties when I realized why the vampire Muppet was called The Count…because he counts, not because he’s Dracula.  Ah, ah ah.  It was kinda awkward when I excitedly told my friends this discovery and they were like, duh.

But that wasn’t nearly as awkward as the day I realized that cruelty-free didn’t mean no animal ingredients, just no animal testing.  All this time, I really thought that cruelty-free meant no animals were killed, used, tested, whatever to make the products I used.  I was actually pretty upset when I put this all together, sitting in the beauty aisle, staring at a package and wondering how a product that used beeswax could be considered cruelty-free.

So, I decided to convert all of my products to vegan and start a blog about it and here we are.  You, me and The Count.  Ah, ah, ah.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Cruelty-free: I do not think that word means what I think it means

    1. Well, people will disagree on whether or not beeswax is cruel. While it probably doesn’t harm the bees to take their wax, I do wonder how the bees are treated to get the wax. I’m guessing they’re not just skipping along in the woods looking for honeycombs or whatever that have been abandoned by bees. Hope that answers your question!

  1. In your defense, it is kind of confusing. I feel like a lot of brands try to keep things as vague as possible… so frustrating!

    1. It really is confusing! I’m hoping to find more brands that are blunt about their policies. I really like Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics, for instance. Their package leaves no doubt as to what they’re about.

      1. I love their lip products, as you can see from Friday’s post! They are quickly becoming one of my new favorite brands. Next up, I’m going to try their eyeshadow and foundation.

  2. Hmm, tht makes sense, plus guess they must make it for a reason…so theres that too, n yea its tuff cuz pkges suger coat things for example,i was reading a box of himalayn salt n it boasted it was mined deep in the hymalayans(read blasted a big hole in th side) n hand picked (read underpaid workers) so wen something boasts all natural tht hs beeswax …it may b natural but at what cost…

Leave a Reply

